City Council

The City Council is the governing body of the City of Grand Ledge. It was originally established in 1893, with the original incorporation of the City, as a five member board made up of the Mayor and four Council members, two each representing the City’s then two wards. Now, it is a seven member board made up of the Mayor and six Council members, two each representing the City’s three wards.

The Mayor is elected at-large to a two-year term each odd-year November election. One Council member is elected from each ward each November election to a two-year term. The City Council regularly meets the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Council chambers, City Hall, 310 Greenwood St. Agendas, meeting packets, and minutes and Ward Map are available online.

For more information about the City Council, contact Gregory Newman, City Clerk at or by calling (517) 622-7920.

Project Image Every two years Grand Ledge City Council members review the goals they wish to make significant progress towards in the coming years. City Council members then prioritize a number of projects in its continued efforts to improve the community. Establishing tiered priorities helps to ensure clear direction and focus for city staff, board members, and the community.

City Council pictured from left to right. Top Row: Michael Doty, Tom Jancek, Don Willems, Thom Sowle Bottom Row: Mayor Pro-Tem Keith Mulder, Mayor Kalmin Smith, Rick Lantz

Ward Council Members Term Expires Contact Information
1 Keith Mulder (Mayor Pro-Tem) 2017 (517) 627-3512   Email
1 Don Willems 2018 (517) 980-5415   Email
2 Rick Lantz 2018 (517) 627-3389   Email
2 Michael Doty 2019 (517) 749-6034   Email
3 Tom Jancek 2018 (517) 627-6558   Email
3 Thom Sowle 2017 (517) 627-7917   Email